Facebook Connect Follow us on Twitter and win an iPad 3
Guinness Storehouse

The Guinness Storehouse (informally the Storehouse or Guinness Hop Store) is a Guinness-themed tourist attraction located at St. James's Gate Brewery in Dublin, Ireland. Since its opening in November 2000, it has received over four million visitors.

The Storehouse is laid out over seven floors surrounding a glass atrium shaped in the form of a pint of Guinness. The ground floor introduces the beer's four ingredients (water, barley, hops and yeast), and the brewery's founder, Arthur Guinness. Other floors feature the history of Guinness advertising and include an interactive exhibit on responsible drinking.

The seventh floor houses the Gravity Bar with views of Dublin and where visitors may drink a pint of Guinness included in the price of admission, which is €14.40.

THE STOREHOUSE

The building was constructed in 1902 as a fermentation plant for the St. James's Gate Brewery (where yeast is added to the brew) and was designed in the style of the Chicago School of Architecture. It was the first multi-storey steel-framed building to be constructed in Ireland. The building was used continuously as the fermentation plant of the Brewery until its closure in 1988.

In 1997, it was decided to convert the building into the Guinness Storehouse, replacing the Guinness Hop Store as the Brewery's visitor centre.

The Storehouse opened to the public on 2 December 2000 and offers a 'visitor experience' like no other. In 2006 a new wing was developed at a cost of €2.5 million, including a live installation demonstrating the modern brewing process.

Even though it is no longer part of the active brewery, this building is undoubtedly Ireland's most recognisable brand. It has a retail store, exhibition space, function rooms, a restaurant and two bars. Much of the vast floor space is taken up with presentations on the history and making of the humble pint, which, although self-congratulatory in tone, are magnificently realised.

The archive contains records dating from the 1759 lease of the Brewery, photographs, films, videos, memorabilia, posters, maps, bottles and artefacts documenting the history of the Guinness Company’s brand and products in Ireland.

The advertising is, perhaps, the most entertaining section - a testament to the company's famously imaginative marketing. The Storehouse tour includes a complimentary pint of the best Guinness you are likely to get, and there's nowhere better to drink it than in the Gravity Bar, at the very top of the building. This circular bar has a 360-degree window and offers the kind of spectacular view over Dublin that makes the rather steep entrance fee worthwhile.

Queen Elizabeth II and Prince Philip visited the Storehouse in May 2011, as a part of a state visit to Ireland.


Opening Times

Open 7 days a week from 9:30 am- 5pm (last admissions is at 5pm)

Late opening times during July and August until 7pm (last admissions is at 7pm)

Open all year apart from Good Friday, Christmas Eve Dec 24th, Christmas Day Dec 25th and St Stephen’s Day (Boxing Day)

For tickets click here